null

House Gone Quiet: Stories (PB) (2023)

SKU:
9781668016312
Availability:
This book will ship on Oct 17, 2023
$18.00
A genre-bending debut story collection about the bonds and bounds of community and what it means to call a place home, perfect for fans of Friday Black and Her Body and Other Parties.

"A writer to watch if there ever was one." --Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, New York Times bestselling author of Friday Black

"From searing satire to haunting magical realism, Kelsey Norris's carefully and beautifully crafted tales left me laughing, gasping, and completely enthralled." --Deesha Philyaw, author of The Secret Lives of Church Ladies

A group of women contemplate violence after they're sent into foreign territory to make husbands of the enemy. A support network of traumatized joggers meets to discuss the bodies they've found on their runs. And a town replaces its Confederate monument with a rotating cast of local residents. Slippery but muscular, sly but electric, this stunning debut collection moves from horror to magical realism to satire with total authority. In these stories, characters build and remake their sense of home, be it with one another or within themselves.

As in the very best collections, each of these stories is a world all its own, with a novel's emotional heft and a poem's laser focus on the most achingly resonant details of its characters' lives. Captivating from start to finish, House Gone Quiet announces the arrival of a thrilling literary talent.

Shipping Cost:
Calculated at Checkout
Author:
Kelsey Norris
ISBN 10:
1668016311
Pages:
224
Publisher:
Scribner Book Company
Publication Date:
October 17, 2023
Binding:
Paperback
Weight:
0.83lbs