null

How the Boogeyman Became a Poet (HC) (2024)

$19.99
SKU:
9780063296008
Shipping:
Calculated at Checkout
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Availability: This book will ship on Feb 6, 2024
Current Stock:Only left:

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. Sales Tax
Total: Ex. Sales Tax

Description

Poet, writer, and hip-hop educator Tony Keith Jr. makes his debut with a powerful YA memoir in verse, tracing his journey from being a closeted gay Black teen battling poverty, racism, and homophobia to becoming an openly gay first-generation college student who finds freedom in poetry. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, George M. Johnson, and Jacqueline Woodson.

Tony dreams about life after high school, where his poetic voice can find freedom on the stage and page. But the Boogeyman has been following Tony since he was six years old. First, the Boogeyman was after his Blackness, but Tony has learned It knows more than that: Tony wants to be the first in his family to attend college, but there's no path to follow. He also has feelings for boys, desires that don't align with the script he thinks is set for him and his girlfriend, Blu.

Despite a supportive network of family and friends, Tony doesn't breathe a word to anyone about his feelings. As he grapples with his sexuality and moves from high school to college, he struggles with loneliness while finding solace in gay chat rooms and writing poetry. But how do you find your poetic voice when you are hiding the most important parts of yourself? And how do you escape the Boogeyman when it's lurking inside you?

 

Details

Author:
Tony Keith Jr
ISBN 10:
0063296004
Pages:
352
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date:
February 6, 2024
Binding:
Hardcover
Weight:
1.00lbs
Age Group:
Young Adult (14 - 18)
Grade Range:
9-UP

Delivery & Returns


Enjoy our Podcasts