null

So Done (HC) (2018)

$16.99
SKU:
9780062691781
Shipping:
Calculated at Checkout
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Current Stock:Only left:

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. Sales Tax
Total: Ex. Sales Tax

Description

When best friends Tai and Mila are reunited after a summer apart, their friendship threatens to combust from the pressure of secrets, middle school, and the looming dance auditions for a new talented-and-gifted program.

Fans of Renée Watson's Piecing Me Together will love this memorable story about a complex friendship between two very different African American girls--and the importance of speaking up.

Jamila Phillips and Tai Johnson have been inseparable since they were toddlers, having grown up across the street from each other in Pirates Cove, a low-income housing project. As summer comes to an end, Tai can't wait for Mila to return from spending a month with her aunt in the suburbs. But both girls are grappling with secrets, and when Mila returns she's more focused on her upcoming dance auditions than hanging out with Tai.

Paula Chase explores complex issues that affect many young teens, and So Done offers a powerful message about speaking up. Full of ballet, basketball, family, and daily life in Pirates Cove, this memorable novel is for fans of Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish and Jason Reynolds's Ghost.

Chase vividly conjures the triumphs, tensions, and worries percolating in the girls' low-income neighborhood. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)


Details

Author:
Paula Chase
ISBN 10:
0062691783
Pages:
304
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books
Publication Date:
August 14, 2018
Binding:
Hardcover
Weight:
0.85lbs
Age Group:
Young Readers (9 - 13)
Grade Range:
3-7

Delivery & Returns


Enjoy our Podcasts