null

Science

Shop By Price:
$
$

Sort By:

Display Type:
Filters
  • Product
  • Qty in Cart
  • Quantity
  • Price
  • Subtotal
  • Four Lost Cities: A Secret History of the Urban Age (CD) (2021)
    Quick view

    Four Lost Cities: A Secret History of the Urban Age (CD) (2021)

    9781665115636
    $39.99
    In Four Lost Cities, acclaimed science journalist Annalee Newitz takes listeners on an entertaining and mind-bending adventure into the deep history of urban life. Investigating across the centuries and around the world, Newitz explores the rise and fall...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $39.99
    Subtotal:
  • Wired for Culture: Origins of the Human Social Mind (PB) (2013)
    Quick view

    Wired for Culture: Origins of the Human Social Mind (PB) (2013)

    9780393344202
    $18.95
    A unique trait of the human species is that our personalities, lifestyles, and worldviews are shaped by an accident of birth--namely, the culture into which we are born. It is our cultures and not our genes that determine which foods we eat, which...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $18.95
    Subtotal:
  • What the Eyes Don't See: A Story of Crisis, Resistance, and Hope in an American City (HC) (2018)
    Quick view

    What the Eyes Don't See: A Story of Crisis, Resistance, and Hope in an American City (HC) (2018)

    9780399590832
    $28.00
    A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK - The dramatic story of the Flint water crisis, by a relentless physician who stood up to power. "Stirring . . . [a] blueprint for all those who believe . . . that 'the world . . . should be full of people raising their...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $28.00
    Subtotal:
  • Walking Through Mirrors (PB) (1999)
    Quick view

    Walking Through Mirrors (PB) (1999)

    9780671568948
    $17.99
    In his breathtaking debut, The View From Here, Brian Keith Jackson took us inside the heart of black family life in the rural South. Now, in a novel that resonates with pure emotion, he sends photographer Jeremy Bishop back to Elsewhere, Louisiana, for...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $17.99
    Subtotal:
  • Tyrants of Matriarchy: Feminism and the Myth of Patriarchal Oppression (PB) (2021)
    Quick view

    Tyrants of Matriarchy: Feminism and the Myth of Patriarchal Oppression (PB) (2021)

    9780977526130
    $15.99
    The edifice of feminist theory stands on the myth of patriarchal oppression. In dispensing with this myth, Stephen Jarosek shows that feminism is a bankrupt ideology that has never been substantiated. He factors in emerging developments in the life and...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $15.99
    Subtotal:
  • Transcendence: How Humans Evolved Through Fire, Language, Beauty, and Time (HC) (2020)
    Quick view

    Transcendence: How Humans Evolved Through Fire, Language, Beauty, and Time (HC) (2020)

    9780465094905
    $30.00
    In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our speciesA wondrous, visionary work. --Tim Flannery, scientist and author...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $30.00
    Subtotal:
  • The Serpent and the Rainbow (PB) (1997)
    Quick view

    The Serpent and the Rainbow (PB) (1997)

    9780684839295
    $17.00
    A scientific investigation and personal adventure story about zombis and the voudoun culture of Haiti by a Harvard scientist.In April 1982, ethnobotanist Wade Davis arrived in Haiti to investigate two documented cases of zombis--people who had reappeared...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $17.00
    Subtotal:
  • The Sensitives: The Rise of Environmental Illness and the Search for America's Last Pure Place (PB) (2021)
    Quick view

    The Sensitives: The Rise of Environmental Illness and the Search for America's Last Pure Place (PB) (2021)

    9781982128524
    $17.00
    A compelling exploration of the mysteries of environmental toxicity and the community of "sensitives"--people with powerful, puzzling symptoms resulting from exposure to chemicals, fragrances, and cell phone signals, that have no effect on "normals."...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $17.00
    Subtotal:
  • The New Possible: Visions of Our World beyond Crisis (HC) (2021)
    Quick view

    The New Possible: Visions of Our World beyond Crisis (HC) (2021)

    9781725285828
    $35.00
    2020 upended every aspect of our lives. But where is our world heading next? Will pandemic, economic instability, and social distance lead to deeper inequalities, more nationalism, and further erosion of democracies around the world? Or are we moving...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $35.00
    Subtotal:
  • The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall (HC) (2019)
    Quick view

    The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall (HC) (2019)

    9780465055685
    $32.00
    The epic story, ultimate big history, and "remarkable intellectual achievement" (Quarterly Review of Biology) describing how human society evolved from intimate chimp communities into the sprawling civilizations of a world-dominating speciesIf a...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Price:
    $32.00
    Subtotal:
  • The Human Cosmos: Civilization and the Stars (PB) (2021)
    Quick view

    The Human Cosmos: Civilization and the Stars (PB) (2021)

    9780593183045
    $18.00
    A Best Book of 2020 (NPR)A Best Book of 2020 (The Economist)A Top Ten Best Science Book of 2020 (Smithsonian) A Best Science and Technology Book of 2020 (Library Journal)A Must-Read Book to Escape the Chaos of 2020 (Newsweek)Starred review (Booklist)...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $18.00
    Subtotal:
  • The Human Cosmos: Civilization and the Stars (HC) (2020)
    Quick view

    The Human Cosmos: Civilization and the Stars (HC) (2020)

    9780593183014
    $28.00
    A Best Book of 2020 NPRA Best Book of 2020 The EconomistA Top Ten Best Science Book of 2020 Smithsonian A Best Science & Technology Book of 2020 Library JournalA Must-Read Book to Escape the Chaos of 2020 NewsweekStarred review Booklist Starred review...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $28.00
    Subtotal:
  • The Great Indoors: The Surprising Science of How Buildings Shape Our Behavior, Health, and Happiness (HC) (2020)
    Quick view

    The Great Indoors: The Surprising Science of How Buildings Shape Our Behavior, Health, and Happiness (HC) (2020)

    9780374166632
    $28.00
    An Architectural Record Notable BookA fascinating, thought-provoking journey into our built environment Modern humans are an indoor species. We spend 90 percent of our time inside, shuttling between homes and offices, schools and stores, restaurants and...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $28.00
    Subtotal:
  • The Book of Humans: A Brief History of Culture, Sex, War, and the Evolution of Us (PB) (2020)
    Quick view

    The Book of Humans: A Brief History of Culture, Sex, War, and the Evolution of Us (PB) (2020)

    9781615195909
    $15.95
    "Rutherford describes [The Book of Humans] as being about the paradox of how our evolutionary journey turned 'an otherwise average ape' into one capable of creating complex tools, art, music, science, and engineering. It's an intriguing question, one his...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $15.95
    Subtotal:
  • The 21st Century Handbook: Cultural Chaos, Real Men, DNA, and Dragons (PB) (2020)
    Quick view

    The 21st Century Handbook: Cultural Chaos, Real Men, DNA, and Dragons (PB) (2020)

    9781631292248
    $20.49
    Censorship, Harvard storytelling, judges making law, pseudoscience, and dinosaur deception! Those are just some of the answers that explain how America slipped into this 21st century "Cold Civil War," a phrase now heard more and more. A deepening...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $20.49
    Subtotal:
  • The 21st Century Handbook: Cultural Chaos, Real Men, DNA, and Dragons (HC) (2020)
    Quick view

    The 21st Century Handbook: Cultural Chaos, Real Men, DNA, and Dragons (HC) (2020)

    9781631292255
    $36.49
    Censorship, Harvard storytelling, judges making law, pseudoscience, and dinosaur deception! Those are just some of the answers that explain how America slipped into this 21st century "Cold Civil War," a phrase now heard more and more. A deepening...
    Qty in Cart: 0
    Quantity:
    Price:
    $36.49
    Subtotal:
  • Total: items /

Adding your products to cart


Enjoy our Podcasts