My Blue Suede Shoes

"My Blue Suede Shoes" is a collection of four novellas by four leading African-American women writers that examines the terrorism of domestic violence.
"A powerful collection of novellas by four leading African-American women writers, each tackling the terror of domestic violence." In "Other People's Skin, "Tracy Price-Thompson and TaRessa Stovall, along with writers Elizabeth Atkins and Desiree Cooper, took on intra-racial prejudice. The second book in their successful Sister4Sister Empowerment Series once again offers hope and healing, this time from the nightmare of abuse. In Desiree Cooper's "Breakin' It Down," a highly successful talk show host, haunted by the abandonment and self-loathing she felt as a child, is shocked to find herself inflicting the same abuse she experienced on her seven-year-old daughter. Tracy Price-Thompson's "Brotherly Love "goes deep into the disturbing relationship between a beautiful, accomplished teenage girl and the seemingly dutiful brother who raised her after their parents' death. TaRessa Stovall's "Breakin' Dishes "reveals the turmoil behind the scenes of a picture-perfect marriage as an angry wife beats her cheating husband. And in Elizabeth Atkins's "The Wrong Side of Mr. Right," an outwardly beaming bride-to-be comes to terms with the inner turmoil brought on by her emotionally abusive fiance. In all four novellas, redemption and hope appear when a pair of blue suede shoes enters each woman's life, helping her to overcome her challenges and stop the cycle of abuse. A raw, engaging, and enlightening collection from beginning to end, "My Blue Suede Shoes "is as informative as it is entertaining.
Shipping Cost:
Calculated at Checkout
Tracey Price-Thompson
ISBN 10:
Atria Books
Publication Date:
2011-03-29 00:00:00