null

Education Across Borders: Immigration, Race, and Identity in the Classroom (PB) (2022)

SKU:
9780807052808
Availability:
This book will ship on Feb 22, 2022
$16.95
A critical resource for K-12 educators that serve BIPOC and first-generation students that explores why inclusive and culturally relevant pedagogy is necessary to ensure the success of their students

For readers of White Folks Who Teach in the Hood...And The Rest of Y'all Too, Education Across Borders is a strong teacher development resource for white educators who serve BIPOC students and are looking for culturally relevant pedagogies that value the diverse experiences of their students. The practices and values in the U.S. educational system position linguistically, culturally, and socioeconomically diverse children and families at a disadvantage.BIPOC dropout rates and levels of stress and anxiety have linked with non-inclusive school environments. In this collection, three educators and will draw on their experiences as immigrants and educators to address racial inequity in the classroom and provide a thorough analysis of different strategies that create an inclusive classroom environment.
With a focus on Haitian and Dominican students in the U.S., the authors will reveal the challenges that immigrant and first-generation students face. They'll also offer insights about topics such as:

- How do language policies and social justice intersect?
- How can educators use culturally relevant teaching and community funds of knowledge to enrich school curriculum?
- How can educators center the needs of the student within the classroom?
- How can educators support Haitian Creole-speaking students?

Shipping Cost:
Calculated at Checkout
Author:
Patrick Sylvain
Author:
Jalene Tamerat
ISBN 10:
0807052809
Pages:
144
Publisher:
Beacon Press
Publication Date:
February 22, 2022
Binding:
Paperback
Weight:
1.25lbs